Outdoor fermenting/conditioning

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

suttonjs2

Reaction score
Hey all,
I am brand new to the home brew scene. This is my first post. Got a Mr. Beer kit for Christmas thanks to my awesome wife and began fermenting the West Coast Pale Ale that Mr. Beer sells last Sunday. I doubled the HME and yeast but used only one booster. Was going to wait two weeks to bottle but after reading several posts here I've decided to wait three weeks.

Right now I have the fermenting keg in my bedroom closet, but eventually I would like to upgrade to a larger setup using buckets and a carboy. Space in my house is at a premium, so that sort of setup would have to be out in my shed which is not air-conditioned. My question is would the hot Florida weather (often in excess of 90 degrees in the Summer) be a prohibitive fermenting/conditioning environment?

Thanks in advance, and also for the wealth of knowledge this forum has provided this newb!

You're going to need to come up with some form of temp control, which at the low end is going to be something like a rubbermade cooler, frozen water bottles, a t-shirt and maybe even a fan...Like this;

fermenting.jpg

Which in Florida is going to require you to swap put your ice bottles every few hours for the first week.

Some modification of an insulated cooler setup again with ice bottles.

All the way to something like a fridge or freezer with temp control in it.

Some folks even rig temp control cabinates off an ac vent with some insulated material.

So it really runs the gamut of solutions.

It really is going to depend on how much money you can throw at the problem, to how much time you want to invest in changing ice bottle.