First brew without a kit, questions.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dandw12786

Reaction score
Hey everyone,
My brother and I started brewing a few weeks ago. We're going to be doing our third batch today. Our first was a 20-minute boil kit from Midwest Supply in Minneapolis, MN (We're from South Dakota, REPRESENT!!! :rockin:). We're fairly confident it will be drinkable, since it looks like those are almost impossible to screw up. Our second was an American Amber Brewers Best kit. This time, we decided to find an actual recipe and buy the ingredients ourselves. Here's what we decided on:

American Pale Ale

5 lbs extra light DME
1/2 lb crystal malt
Amarillo Hops (2 oz total, 60, 30, 10, and dry hop)

Here are my questions:

1. The recipe called for Cascade hops. They were out of pellet cascade hops and I didn't want to jump into leaf hops quite yet. The guide they had at the store said Amarillo was an acceptable substitute. I feel pretty confident in that decision, hows it sound?

2. Turns out the recipe calls for 2.5-3 oz of hops. 1 oz at 60, .5 at 30, .5 at 10, and .5-1 dry hop. Should i go get another packet, and would you recommend doing a full 1 oz dry hop or just the .5?

3. The recipe called for Wyeast american ale yeast. Really dont want to jump into those kinds of yeast just yet, is a packet of dry yeast sufficient for most beers? Is it ok to just sprinkle it on top like we did with the first two kits or should we really be following the instructions on the packet?

4. Is a week in the primary and a week in the carboy sufficient for most kit beers? Should we do a bit longer with this one?