Hello From Honolulu, HI

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kawi6rr

Reaction score
Hello Everyone!!
This is my first time posting here I just want to say thanks up front to everyone. I’ve read a couple of the posts and have found many helpful tips.

I’ve brewed my first batch of beer using the Coopers kit it came with the lager brew. I was pleasantly surprised that it was quite easy and turned out better then I expected. However I do like beer and this brew was too lite for me and had a hint of cider smell to it. I found that the kit comes with what Coopers calls their brewing sugar. I prefer a tastier beer with more body. I ordered up their Like Dry Malt and will try their lager again using just that.

Coopers kits come with a little packet of yeast. My question is, if I use White Labs Liquid Lager Yeast will this enhance my beer or is it a waste of money? I’m not exactly sure what different types of yeast or better yeast will do to my brew? What I’m trying to do is make a tastier beer with what I have already.

Thanks!!
Sean

lagers have to be fermented in the 50F range, can you keep the temperature that low for say 4-6weeks? If no they you're limited to ale yeast only. Do a search on lager fermenting on that topic.

Welcome to the forum. I just moved from Honolulu in July of last year. Maintaining fermentation temperature there was one of my most difficult challenges.

Good Luck.

I have to believe that any brew tastes better in Honolulu. Here in Sanford, MI it's a balmy 24 degrees - I'll take 75 degrees any day!