Odd smell in finished beer.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
So im drinking my second batch of homebrew, a brown ale. my first was a pale ale.

They both taste awesome but have a light "rotten egg" kinda smell going on. One was bottle conditioned and the second was force carbed in a keg.

What can this be?
I used distilled water on both (both were extracts).

Rotten Egg smell comes from Hydrogen sulfide, which is a natural by-product of fermentation that´s normally flushed out with the production of carbon dioxide during fermentation

I have found, since I started brewing last year, that I have made some very bad smelling beers. The batch of stout that I just finished a month ago smelled like wet dog for example. I was thinking that I was doing something wrong, and how to fix it, but as I try craft brews from the local area I have come to a conclusion: Good beer sometimes smells bad. What I mean to say is that sometimes when you are a small brewer, brewing something without lots of hops, you choose certain ingredients that give you a certain flavour profile that you are looking for, but just don't smell very good. It is a trade-off I am willing to make for my own beer.

Also, I have found that other people do not smell it, so I think I may be over-exaggerating how strong the smell is in my own mind.

This happened with both beers. I fermented a little high (I live in Florida and even in "winter" it gets in the 80's). Mostly around 68-72. But I always kept in my yeasts' range.

(right now) I'm getting that smell from a really active yeast through my air lock. It smells like grains and rotten eggs. Is that normal?