Electric stove BREW??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi im on my second brew, my first one turned out great and i had a gas stove to use at my old house, but since ive moved all i have is an electric stove.

My question is will this do? Im fairly new at this, what problems could i run into using the electric, and is it worth it to just wait and try to find a propane burner.

Thanks in advance for your help

How many gallons are you boiling?

for a partial boil the electric will definately work, it just takes long to bring to a boil.

heat up your house and the wort to as high a temp as you can stand (seriously), the less work the electric stove has to do the better.

consider using a lid and check it frequesntly, using a lid almost guarantee's a boil over.

propane burners a re good becuase good ones have high heat output and you can use them outside. I have a gas stove and use a Charcoal grill, i don't see myself ever using a propane burner.

I am brewing 5 gal batches, last time i used a lid as well but I put it on kinda crooked and adjusted it so it was boiling perfect with no boil overs, i guess ill try this batch with the elec and switch to a propane burner soon.

I do full all grain boils on my electric stove. That said - my electric stove has some seriously thick coils and is like 15 years old and puts out as much heat as I have ever seen from a stove. I can get my boil going from the 140F runoff to a rolling boil in about 20-25 minutes. (I set my thermometer alarm to 210 in the boil so I don't boil over.)

5 gallons may be tough, this'll be a good test for your stove.

maybe you wanna try adding a several cups of table sugar to 5 gallons of water and see if you can get it to boil as a test