Motivate me to switch over to the liquid side

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cuda6pak

Reaction score
So I've been brewing for around 2 years now and jumped all in with a full 3 tier system for 5 gallons, kegging, and dual stage fermentation chamber. I loved every aspect of it but eventually got a little overwhelmed with every little intricate process I added to brewing in the effort for higher quality. I've now dialed my process down into a 10-15 gallon BIAC setup both for better control, but also less cleanup/mess and easier brew day. And an aquarium chiller with built in heater constantly recirculating through the conical jacket to precise fermentation temps.

From the get go I went ahead and bought a stir starter, 2L flask, oxygenation system, etc. However, out of the 30 batches I've done, all of them but two have been with rehydrated S-05 or S-04. For the two liquid yeast beers I did a yeast starter with DME and used Ringwood and a Kolsch yeast, these were both early on in my brewing career too.

100% of my brews have been ales, and basically all IPAs, pales, porters, and stouts. Couple of wheat/adjuncty beers like the Jalapeno cream ale and Mosaic Honey Wheat. I always have great attenuation and hit my FG within a few points.

I feel like I'm missing out with all the available yeasts today, and can't help but think my beer could be missing a bit of a quality element always pitching the dry yeast - though a lot of blind taste testing I've seen on IPAs/pales/ales with dry vs liquid have been a wash so to speak.