Simple Watermelon Wheat

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zhaph

Reaction score
Hey folks, decided to try my hand at a simple watermelon wheat beer the other day and I have a question about how much watermelon to add.

I used a really simple recipe since this is my first try at this style; I did a full-volume boil of 5 gallons using 1oz of Willamette pellet hops for 60min and 5lbs of Briess' Bavarian Wheat DME for 60 minutes. Wort was cooled with a coil chiller, aerated with a pump, and White Labs' Bavarian Wheat yeast was pitched.

Things are bubbling along nicely in primary, but I am wondering how much watermelon to add to secondary, and how to add it. I have a powerful blender/food processor, so I could effectively puree a bunch of watermelon and drop that in. I also plan to keg and force-carb this beer, so another option is to use a spare keg as the secondary tank and hang some big chunks of watermelon inside in a mesh bag. I do not want to use artificial flavoring/extract.

What's the best method (or is there another I've not thought of?), and how much watermelon (in cups, pounds, whatever measurement you'd like) do you think I should use? Thanks!

I just kegged my watermelon wheat on thurs night.

I added 3 cups of watermelon juice..

I had cut up the watermelon and put in a freezer bag and froze it. this was a HUGE ass watermelon that wasn't intended for brewing, but I figured since I already had the watermelon in the freezer I'd use it. I took it out of the freezer and into the fridge to thaw out. I pulled it out and left it out on the counter for a couple hours before I was going to keg my beer. turns out I had enough juice and I didn't have to squeeze, use a blender, etc....