Full boil - extract kit

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrewInATL

Reaction score
Howdy folks,

I am planning to do a full boil with my extract kit from NorthernBrewer.com. I have a few questions about the recipe. I understand that the hops will need to be adjusted for the larger boil? But I am not sure how to adjust the hops since I'm still a newb.

The kit recommends a 2.5 gallon boil for 60 minutes.

Recipe:

Kit Inventory:
Specialty Grain
-- 1 lbs Simpsons Roasted Barley
Fermentables
-- 6 lbs Gold Malt syrup
Hops & Flavor ings
-- 2 oz Cluster (60 min)
Yeast
-- Wyeast 1084 Ir ish Ale Yeast. Slight residual diacetyl
and fruitiness; great for stouts. Clean, smooth, soft and fullbodied.
Apparent attenuation: 71-75%. Flocculation: medium.
Optimum temp: 62°-72° F.

Here is a link to the kit that I purchased: http://www.northernbrewer.com/skin/...eme/images/media/beerkitpdf/DryIrishStout.pdf

I also wanted to post a video of my boil (This was just plain water boiling) since I am using my stove this was about the max that I could get (without putting a partial lid over the top of the pot). I checked the temperature of the boil and it was at 100C. I boiled 6 gallons and ended up with just a tiny bit under 5 gallons at the end. Does this sound about right given the next time I will be making wort? Any other tips anyone would like to provide? Thanks! :tank:

Last edited by a moderator:
Some brewing software really helps- I use Beersmith. Here's what Beersmith says:

I assumed a 7.5% AAU on the hops. Yours will probably be different, but this will give you an idea.