Citra/Chinook APA help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

coolharry

Reaction score
Hey everyone,
I was wondering if anyone had any experience with this hop combo and might give me a bit of advice on my hop schedule. I'm shooting for a APA with a ton of hop flavor and aroma, and a nice smooth bitterness. I did an all Chinook IPA kit a year or so ago and really enjoyed it, but I'm starting to experiment with my own recipes and could use a bit of feedback on this one since I've never worked with Citra before.

Heres what I've got:

5.5 gallons
OG - 1.051
FG - 1.013
IBU - 41

9 lbs Northwest Pale
1lb Vienna
8oz Caramel 30l

1/2 oz Chinook @ 60 (11.8%/3%)
1/2 oz Citra @ 15 (13.4%/3.4%)
1/2 oz Chinook @15
1/2 oz Citra @ 0
1/2 oz Chinook @ 0
1 oz citra dry hop 5-7 days
1/2 Chinook dry hop 5-7 days

Mash @ 152 for an hour
US-05 yeast

Thanks!

Looks like a pretty sweet hop sched to me! My only recommendation would be to up the glamour additions to 1 oz each

BuckSwope said:
Looks like a pretty sweet hop sched to me! My only recommendation would be to up the glamour additions to 1 oz each

You mean the additions a flameout?

Yes, I like it!

I'm not a huge citra fan, at least with citra by itself, but I do like it when combined with chinook or cascades.

I think this will be a very tasty beer, and I wish I could sit down and drink one with you.

Love this hop combo. If it were me I would ditch the 60 minute addition and just do big late hop additions. Also I would up the dry hop to 2 oz of each.