Mason Jars?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MrMeans

Reaction score
So I have a batch of beer I am planning to start soon and a good part of it I plan to gift out to friends. Recently a friend made a joke about me giving to people in mason jars much like good ole boys do with shine. At first it was just something to laugh at but the more I thought about it the more it seemed like a good idea in theory. So my question is this, has anyone on here tried to bottle, or should I say jar beer into mason jars? If so what results did you get? Anything I should make sure to look out for? Reasons to avoid this?

I am still pretty new to brewing/bottling and have not got the experience under my belt that I know some of the people on here have. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers.

I think that mason jars are designed to handle a vacuum, not pressure. It's the vacuum that seals the lid, and I don't know what the glass can handle.

Can you just have them over and SERVE in the Masons?

I don't know if they would do well with the pressure. Otherwise not good because of the clear glass also. I wouldn't reccomendd it.

Mason jars are not ment to hold pressure, they will shatter, and they are not made of tempered glass. you may try it with people you don't really like first.

Drink them in good health

clear glass = skunky beer. however...if you kept them in the dark until the minute you consumed them and never ever ever EVER let them see light, i can't think of a reason it wouldn't work. you'd have to tighten the bands pretty tightly.