Bourbon chips in my imperial red ale?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewboyrsl

Reaction score
Hey guys! So I'm looking to do a little more complicated brew this next time around and I'm planning on going with an imperial red and I want to soak it in Bourbon wood chips. I was wondering what's the best way to soak the chip, which is the best Bourbon to use, and how long I should soak the chips/ale in them. This would be my first time doing Bourbon chips so and info would help. Oh and if you know of a solid imperial red ale recipe that's would help too. Thanks. :rockin:

I have no experience with Bourbon/Oaking a beer, so I can not help you there, but if you need to start with an incredible Imperial red recipe, I highly suggest Jamil's Evil Twin.

See recipe here
http://www.mrmalty.com/late_hopping.htm

It was my best beer out of about 25 different brews, and I liked it so much, I conducted an Imperial Red lin-up, and had my wife blind taste it.

As compared (completely blind mind you) to Boulders Hoptical Illusion, Stone Levitation, Troegs Nugget Nectar, and Troegs Hopback Amber, my wife said that my version of the Evil Twin had a malt complexity missing from the other 4, as well as a brighter hop flavor and aroma. That is a pretty good testiment to the recipe when you look at the class of beers it was compared to.

I've also brewed his West Coast Blaster (Red Rocket clone) and I still preferred the Evil Twin.

Good Luck,
Joe