Smoking while brewing?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wtaylor3

Reaction score
I'm currently looking at a set-n-forget smoker and was just reading the morning brewing forum and I had a thought....

How Bout smoking meat WHILE brewing? Does anyone do this? I figure during strike water heating, mashing, and racking there's enough time to check on the meat

I've done this. Smoked 3 racks of ribs out back (cooking deck) while brewing an AG batch out front garage/driveway). Admittedly, did a lot of frantic laps around the house, but both came out delicious. BTW, I don't have one of those fancy set and forget rigs...just an old school horizontal stick burner. It's all about fire control.

When I was a noob at smoking and a reasonably experienced brewer, I did both at the same time and there was a lot of running back and forth. Now that I know what I'm doing on the smoker (and thanks to the DigiQ controller) I can do both no problem. I just time the brew at a time when the smoker doesn't need any attention.

I do it all the time. Last weekend was a Packer Brisket started early then brewed a Cali Common, then the beef was done.

Here was some jerky and Bourbon Barrel Porter mid Sep.

I brined some strips of Beef Bottom Round overnight in a brine recipe I got from a retired Surveyor that he got from the Mo Conservationist magazine about 35 or 40 yrs ago.

I used Royal Oak and a chunk of Peach @ 150*F for 5 hrs.

D1308372-ECBB-4B69-8B16-CBACC0A10B7D_zpssdlds7i6.jpg

I also brewed a Porter

E11735DE-EAE9-49DD-9F28-DC266401D562_zpsebqgbsuj.jpg

F9ACCDED-1351-411A-BC3E-0D5507E9011D_zpsrzpkayyr.jpg

FE55AF5C-FD8A-4F8C-B6E4-9D466C011803_zpsgdlqr5of.jpg

And there you have it

004_zps94fced5e.jpg