1 month and no carb, what's a guy to do?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jmo88

Reaction score
I've brewed quite a bit and have yet to have this happen to me. I bottled my IPA a month ago and it has no yeast cake and absolutely no sign of carbonation. Not even the faintest "pfft" sound after popping the top. It has been sitting at 70F consistently and I even gently rolled the bottles to re-suspend the yeast every other day, even though there isn't any signs of yeast.

This sucks because I did everything I normally do. I even took a few swipes off the yeast cake at the bottom of the carboy with the siphon.

It's such a good brew I could choke 'em down flat. But would you pop the top and introduce more yeast? I've never done that before...

If the OG was not too "big" and the Fg was reasonable, I guess at this point I'd consider adding some yeast, as long as you know for sure that you added the priming sugar!

I'd open each bottle, and put the minimal amount of yeast in as you are able. I did this only once, and used like one grain of yeast in each bottle. It worked fine, and it carbed up.

I would say that if you are certain that your yeast just pooped out, and you know the attenuation of the yeast you used, and use a similar dry yeast, you should be fine.

I did this only once, and used like one grain of yeast in each bottle. It worked fine, and it carbed up.

Thanks, I'll get some Nottingham this weekend. So what was the reason you had to do this? I mean, you had to start doubting yourself that you put the priming sugar in, right? :eek:

I'm about 99% sure I put that sugar in.