Help with clone recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

steakfries

Reaction score
Extreme noob here. I brewed one batch so far from a kit, then quickly realized it would be more fun to skip the kit. So, I find a clone for my favorite beer, Yuengling Lager, but is written in shorthand for more experience brewers. Can someone help me decipher what to do when? I found various recipes, but decided on this one from: http://www.tastybrew.com/brews/view/8

Here are the directions, but I need further explanation. Thanks so much.

4.5 lbs Laaglander Light Malt Extract
1 lb Rice
1 lb Cara-pils
.5 lb Crystal Malt
1 oz Northern Brewer hops (60 mins)
1/3 oz Tettnanger (10 mins)
1/5 oz Saaz (5 mins)
California Lager 2112 yeast
PREPARATION
Steep grains in 1 gallon water at 158 degrees for 1/2 hour. Remove grains. Add DME and rice solids. Boil 1 hour adding hops at times listed above. Cool wort and pitch yeast.

. . . . .Steep grains in 1 gallon water at 158 degrees for 1/2 hour. Remove grains. Add DME and rice solids. Boil 1 hour adding hops at times listed above. Cool wort and pitch yeast.

What do you need besides that? You have to purchase the ingredients seperately from a homebrew store or on-line.

Brew on my friend:mug:

thanks. I'm just worried about adding the wrong stuff, so I have:

1. steep grains in 1 gallon water: Is that the .5lb crystal malt?
2. Add dme. What? Is that the 4.5 Malt extract, I'm guessing.
3. When do I add the Cara-pils. Or, is that part of number 1?
4. I get cool wort, but what does pitch yeast mean? Literally throw it out or is that a brewing term?

heres an interesting tidbit I had found: