harsh bitter taste when racking to secondary

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

milholen

Reaction score
All,
Im new at brewing. I just made an IPA using LME and decided to add some specialty grains for flavoring. I chose 1 lb choc malt and 1lb 6-row crystal malt. Thing is-- I boiled them awhile. I didn't realize this was the not what was meant by "steeping". I figured it was like making tea. Anyway when I racked to the secondary today I tasted some and it had an odd bitterness that wasn't very appealing. My question is this: Will this taste smooth with time or is the whole batch screwed?
Thanks for any help.

Just wanted to add that I don't think the taste is due to bacteria because I took great pains to ensure everything the beer touched soaked in bleach water for at least 30 minutes and was rinsed thoroughly. There is no odd aromas -- just the harsh taste -- like superhoppy and sightly burnt -- not smooth. I made a kolsch at the same time and it tastes smooth and delicious - the only difference is with the IPA I boiled the grains. Hope I didn't ruin this beer! Any help is appreciated.

Dude, I'm not the best one to be answering this, but I'd say yeah, boiling the specialty grains probably caused your bitter taste. I guess you have the hope that it may mellow out in the secondary. Or after a while in the bottle. Hopefully, someone will have a more educated answer.

milholen said:
All,