beverage lines

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dougbo

Reaction score
I'm new to this so forgive my incompetence...I just got a two faucet tower on ebay. It has four 5/16 lines coming out of it...two for the glycol in/out (I plan to circulate cold water from the fridge with an aquarium pump to keep the lines cold) and two lines for the taps....I just bought 20 ft of 3/16 beverage line...Is it ok to run 3/16 from the kegs and connect to the last 5 feet of 5/16? If so, what is the connecter called and where do I order it? Also, will running 3/16 into 5/16 cause foaming or any other problems..thanks

No reason to post in two spots.

Can you change the beer lines? It's going to screw with your balancing of you try to merge them. You're going to have to do some trial and error instead of relying on the math

You can, but you would need a lot of line for it to balance. The beverage tubing has a specific pressure drop rating/ft. of tubing and for most of us we have short runs and short verticle distances to our taps. Thus we want a fairly high pressure drop/ft. of line. You need the 3/16" tubing to do it properly. Save yourself a huge headache and replace the line with 3/16" (just my $0.02)

Replacing the lines is probably good advice...however, in my excitement I installed the tower to my bar and insulated about 5 ft of line threw a wall and mounted it threw a hole in the fridge. I look in the top of the tower and its packed with hardned foam insulation. It would be a job to tear everything out. If I went ahead and tried the 3/16 to 5/16 thing about how much 3/16 line do you think I'd need inside the fridge? What do you think the chances of a novice being able to get the lines balanced would be?