Tasty Extract Cream Ale to PM or AG

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NMUBrewer

Reaction score
I am just getting into homebrewing. It is so addictive! I just popped open the first bottle of an extract cream ale batch and it was excellent. Besides having more control over flavors what are the pros of switching to grain. If the extract bre is good should I even bother changing it? it is simple and tasty should I experiment elsewhere or can anyone give me pointers as to converting it to an AG or PM?
Recipe
-6 lbs Briess CBW Pilsen Light Malt Extract (Liquid)
- 0.5 oz Hallertau Hops (Leaf)(60 Min.)
- 0.75 oz Kent Goldings Pellet Hops (Final 5 Min.)
- 0.25 oz Kent Goldings Pellet Hops (Added to the partially cooled wort in the fermenter)
- 1 Container White Labs Cream Ale Yeast (#WLP 080)

I can't wait to crack open my first beer. I have 3 batches conditioning.

I think that malt is malt whether it comes from grain or a can. Partial mashing is gonna allow for a lot more recipe options than just using dme and canned malt.

One of the beers I made was all-grain Cream ale kit from Northern Brewer. It had an awesome smell to it and only costs like $13. That is one benefit to doing all-grain, lower costs if you start buying huge sacks of grain. But there is probably better ways to save money, plus you have like 10lbs of wet grains you have to dispose of when your done brewing, and probably a second vessel to clean out. Not too mention equipment costs and having to be careful with temperatures while brewing.