Need Help/Advice with SNPA-type recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wheeliechicken

Reaction score
Here's the recipe I came up with (entered into Qbrew software). I'm looking to make a SNPA clone or similar APA. Notice that the batch size is 3 GAL. Mostly I'm wondering about the extract portion of it - like LME, DME, and when to add, etc. I'm fairly new at this (this will be my 4th batch) so any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

THe Pale Ale

Recipe THe Pale Ale
Style American Pale Ale
Brewer TH
Batch 3.00 gal
Type: Extract
Recipe Characteristics
Recipe Gravity 1.052 OG
Estimated FG 1.013 FG
Recipe Bitterness 37 IBU
Alcohol by Volume 5.0%
Recipe Color 8° SRM
Alcohol by Weight 3.9%
Ingredients QuantityGrainTypeUse
1.00 lb Light D.M.E. Extract
3.00 lb Light malt extract
QuantityHopTypeTime
0.50 oz 8.2% Perle Pellet 60 minutes
0.38 oz 6.3% Cascade Pellet 30 minutes
0.38 oz 6.3% Cascade Pellet 0 minutes
QuantityMiscNotes
1.00 pkg Yeast Safale us-05
Recipe Notes
- Bring water to boil
- Add LME & DME
- Add hops according to schedule
- Chill to <80°
- Pitch re-hydrated yeast
- Ferment in primary for 7 days @70-75°
- Rack into secondary and ferment for 14 days @70-75°
- Prime with 3oz corn sugar and bottle condition for 21 days @70-75°

Can you boil all three gallons? If yes, add all extract at once. If not - if you're boiling less than the full volume - start the boil with the DME and add the LME at flameout, before chilling.

I'd also recommend adding a half-pound of 10L Crystal or so, just for increased mouthfeel and a bit of residual sweetness. Depending, of course, on the brand of extract you've chosen.

Cheers,

Bob