Easiest/Cheapest way to begin kegging

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

anchorandoak

Reaction score
Hello all!

So I've been lurking here for quite some time now and decided to finally ask a question that I can't find a 100% solid answer to:

I have been homebrewing for close to 4 years now, have numerous batches under my belt and am naturally sick and tired of bottling. I just can't do it anymore. I've been doing all-grain 3 gallon batches for the last year or so and I would really like to have multiple batches going at a time. I have had, at points, 2 batches going but when it comes to bottling I just can't do it anymore. The bottles are expensive, a pain to clean/sanitize, fill, cap and store. I really want to begin kegging. So my question is this:

Based on your experience(s), what is the easiest/cheapest way to begin my journey into kegging? I have tried doing some research and am more confused than anything else. Any tips would be awesome! Thanks guy!

I ordered the 2 keg setup from keg connection for Christmas (when they were on sale and had free shipping) - great setup. Very easy, very quick, much better than bottling. I also searched around to find deals and found cornykeg.com has the cheapest pin locks so I picked up a couple extra from them.

I just need to figure out what size kegs fit in what size refrigerator. I am finding some "dorm" sized fridges on craigslist for cheap, but I have no idea what will fit inside of them.

also, will kegging 3 gallons of beer in a 5 gallon keg be a problem?

Choose your poison... Cheers!!!
Keg Connection

Keg connection is nice but you can save a few bucks by skipping the dual guage regulator. Something like this will work just fine and you can add a manifold if you want more than one keg on tap at a time: