back to basics

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lrk97420

Reaction score
Do many advanced all grain brewers go back and make a few extract/partial mash batches? I have found myself doing this quite often lately. It cuts a few hours off as well as simply makes it easier. Heck, I even bought a couple ingredient kits with the grains crushed and all. :mug:

I dont consider extract as basic brewing. Basic for me in single infusion mashing. I actually enjoy the extra steps involved in AG over extract.

I did two all grain batches but have since gone back to partial mash. I actually prefer PM to AG, the amount of work is just right and the result is almost identical.

I've been brewing for seven years and I probably do mini-mashes more than anything else. With 4-5 pounds of grain, I mash with 2.5 gallons of water, mix in the extract and start heating the wort while batch sparging with another 3 gallons. I don't have to pay any attention to the tun & drain it after 15 minutes. The first runnings will be near boiling, so when I add the second run the wort is around 180F.

No extra boil time is needed to concentrate the wort and I get very good efficiency.

I routinely do a batch of ale in under 3 hours. Figure $3-4 extra for the extract over all grain, but I probably get a buck back on reduced propane usage.

david_42 said:
I've been brewing for seven years and I probably do mini-mashes more than anything else. With 4-5 pounds of grain, I mash with 2.5 gallons of water, mix in the extract and start heating the wort while batch sparging with another 3 gallons. I don't have to pay any attention to the tun & drain it after 15 minutes. The first runnings will be near boiling, so when I add the second run the wort is around 180F.