What do I need for kegging!?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ahitz3

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to brewing and kegging so I am asking you vets to help me compile a list of what I will need on the gas side of things. First let me start off by telling you what I already have: Fridge with 3 taps, 3 cornelius kegs, and of course beer. Now I think I will need a 5 lb co2 tank with a 3 way switch so I can force carb my beer. After that, can I use a 2.5 lb tank in the fridge with the 3 kegs? Not to sure how to do that, so any help will be much appreciated. Thanks!

You're on the right track and have almost everything you need you lucky ba$tard :p Go to the kegging/bottling section and click on one of the sticky threads. They will have all the info that you need from parts to preparation to serving. Good luck and Happy Brewing! :mug:

Sounds like you would like a dual body regulator, so you can force carb one while serving from another. You will need some sort of manifold to split one of those gas lines into two. You'll need all the gas lines and beer lines, quick disconnects are great to have.

I would just get one 5 lb tank and use that in the fridge. If you do the two tank method you are describing you would either need two seperate regulators or would have to constantly be switching the regulator from one tank to the other...which to me would seem unnecessary and annoying. Not to mention you add increased risk of dropping/breaking your regulator, which is not a cheap part. Just my .02.

Look here http://stores.kegconnection.com/Detail.bok?no=327

The picture shows everything you will need, you would probably substitute the regulator there for a dual body.

Hmmm for the GAS side...