Bulk Hop Varieties

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mullet

Reaction score
I'm planning on ordering 6 or 7 lbs of hops from hopsdirect in the next week or two, and I'm looking for advice on what varieties to order.

I'm pretty new to brewing, have a few batches under my belt, but still trying to keep things reasonably simple. I brew about 10 gallons split between 2 batches a month. I like english style ales, but I'm open to pretty much anything, so I'd like to get a decent variety of hops to work with.

I was thinking something like:

Amarillo
Chinook or Nugget
Hallertau
Magnum
Willamette
Northern Brewer

Figured that would give me a couple of different pairs of sort of aroma/bittering that would suit a couple different styles.

I'm pretty set on Amarillo, but the rest of them I'd change if there were other recommendations.

Thanks in advance!

It's a good mix of hops. Funny however is that Amarillo is the one I would skip and sub Centennial, Cascade or something else. Not a big fan of Amarillo although I still have 1/2lb in the freezer.

Huh, I thought it was one that a lot of people really liked? I guess I'm not really that set on it, it just seemed from reading other topics that a lot of people recommended it.

I would definately get some cascade. Maybe scratch the willamette...I bought a pound of each of those and the willamette hasn't been touched really and my cascade is nearly gone. I am a fan of amarillo, I'd get it. You're going to get a variety of opinions here becase some people prefer what they like.

That said, I think the rest are a pretty good choice.