Hello from Virginia Beach

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DaleWi

Reaction score
Hello, I've been lurking here for a little while, looks like a great board, so I just wanted to introduce myself. I've been brewing for 8 years and just recently jumped to all-grain. Extract brewing became too easy, I was missing the self-torture/anxiety aspects of the hobby. My first batch, a California Common, turned out pretty good, and I just dumped a Magic Hat #9 clone into the fermenter. Wish me luck and see you around.

Hello and welcome! I'm drinking commercial #9 right now. I like this beer the more I drink it. Would love to have the recipe...

RichBrewer said:
Welcome to HBT! :mug:
How is your all grain brewing going so far?

Thanks, Rich. So far all-grain is going disturbingly easy. I'm using a chest cooler with a copper manifold as my mash/lauter tun and another cooler with a spigot as my HLT. I thought the first batch was probably a fluke, I hit mash temps, pH, etc. dead on with my first try. But the second batch went just as smoothly, so either this all-grain thing isn't as hard as I thought it would be, or I'm overlooking something simple but big and screwing up royally. The first batch was a modification of an extract recipe I'd brewed a few times and came out more bitter than expected, but I had to substitute the hop variety used, so it's either the hops or I oversparged. I kept a closer eye on the wort gravity when sparging second time around, so we'll see. Otherwise, the extra time and effort spent makes for a more rewarding brewday, and man, does the mash smell great!