Did I screw this up?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Husher

Reaction score
I'm new at brewing and I'm used canned kits so far. However I've recently discovered a local shop that'll sell me LME by the liter.

I'm using a blackrock all malt Whispering Wheat kit and added 1 liter of malt in lieu of the 1 kilo of dextrose suggested. I understand that this is cool however I think people usually add half a liter of malt, and half a kilo of sugar.

Adding 1 liter if fine I hear, but I didn't add any hops, or do a significant boil. Is adding extra malt without bittering hops bad? Will it be too sweet?

FYI I did boil in some ground coriander seeds (2 tsps), and ground lemon peel (4 tsps). I had to guess on the volume as most recipes called for weight and I don't have the means of measuring the weight.

I also plan on drop hopping with 20 grams (2/3 of an ounce) with saaz hops. This might be commonplace for other brewers but this is quite the experiment for me and I'm just wondering if I've screwed up up from the start by not using bittering hops. The fermenter smells like smooth caramel-ish beer, but I'm not sure if that'll translate into a good beer.

Cheers.

If you didn't use hops then you don't have beer. What you do have is perhaps malt liquor? Not sure but without bittering hops you likely aren't going to be very hoppy. (See what I did there?!)

Dry hop will not add bitterness. It will only add aroma and MAYBE a bit of flavor (at least perceived).