Online Palmer Nomograph, EZ Water Calc, and some questions. Help me understand!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hafmpty

Reaction score
So, I know that a bunch of people are using TH's EZ Water Calculator. I watched Bobby's videos, but I'm new to this and am wondering if I'm seeing how to do this stuff correctly.

So, I found this website the other day: http://nomograph.babbrewers.com/

It's the same nomograph from John Palmer's How To Brew. For me it's easier to find my salt amounts than EZ's. I can just use the sliders and rather than inputing numbers and in many ways, "guessing" I can just do some real quick slider maneuvering and get my SRM in the right range.

I then take the numbers from the online nomograph and plug them into the EZ Water Calculator. This also helps me to see if the Chloride:Sulfate ratio is OK for the kind of beer I'm brewing. Here's the thing though: I DON'T KNOW WHAT THESE RATIOS ARE SUPPOSED TO BE! How am I supposed to know whether a beer is supposed to be "very malty, malty, balanced, bitter, very bitter, etc." How do you know this? Where can I find this information?

Also, I don't know what to use for my Target Water Profile. In the online nomograph, I use the sliders to get me into the right SRM range. That's it. I'm brewing a 24SRM beer so I add the appropriate amounts of salts that put me in the right range and that's it.