Pumping oxygen into brew during fermentation?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WortCarboy

Reaction score
I received a homemade brew kit as a gift from a friend who designed and patented it. The kit contains an oxygen pump the pumps oxygen into the brew while fermenting in the pail.

From all my research on brewing techniques I have not seen one reference to doing this. Is this done by any other brewers? Not sure if I should remove the pump or not.

I'm still new to brew but I know adding oxygen after fermentation has begun is not good for the beer.

Could you post some pics of this homemade kit? I'm just curious to see the setup...

You always want to aerate (oxygenated) your cooled wort before you pitch your yeast, it helps them reproduce , ferment, and yields a better beer.

The oxygen pump makes it easier to do than shaking a carboy for example.

Yeast need oxygen to work correctly especially at the beginning of the fermentation. The amount of oxygen it uses is a bit complex and is related to how active the yeast is, what the OG of the wort is, etc... Oxygen is used by the yeast during the initial growth stage where it's multiplying like rabbits. But after the wild sex is over, oxeygen can cause serious oxidation problems (leading to beer that has a distinct card-board flavor). There's a new book out by Jamill that goes into it in painful detail if your interested.

But essentially, when using a pump, I'd set it up and run it until I started seeing signs of fermentation and then shut it off. I'm speaking from book-learning here, so your mileage may vary - I use a O2 stone and pure oxygen (I run it for 1 minute for a basic 1.050 wort). Highly recommend it.

Good luck!