hi from Montreal

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jakobrau

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hey guys&gals

I'm a pretty avid beer but only recently decided to take the big plunge into homebrewing. I'm totally absorbed by it and having lots of fun... I've read hottobrew.com twice from end to end even while my first batch is still in primary :)

Anyone from Montreal that can recommend some good brewing hobby shops?

I'll save my other questions for the newb forum :)

Hey there buddy!!!

I'm from you south shore! :) Longueuil on the beach!!! I've been brewing for about 6 months. I've got some good shops to recommand. I first started brewing with "La cachette du bootlegger" own extract kits. They are situated in baie-D'Urfée west of Montréal.

Now, I'm going for the "next" step. So I'm brewing with extract and speciality grains. I now buy my stuff at "La chope à barrock" on St-Dominique street in Mtl.

If you have any questions or if you want to discuss a lil in french, don't hesitate. Write here or PM me!

Cheers!

J-F

Merci pour les recommendations! Cachette is indeed where I got my starter kit.

Later, a friend mentioned another LHBS in the Blue Haven mall on St-Jean's (just north of Fairview). From the outside it seems quite big and well stocked, I'll go check it this weekend. Hopefully they have an assortment of soaps and sanitizers on hand...

Speaking of Cachette, which flavor of superbatch is your favorite? I picked up the Bavarian Lager. So far it smells good (although I'm brewing it more like an Ale I think...)

I prefer Bootleggers to Chope a Barrock, the prices are usually much more fair. Check out montrealers.ca for other brewers in montreal.