mini keg option

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

raf1919

Reaction score
I would like to a small keg option something like 2gal. money is not an issue but space is. i live in condo so no room for the large kegs for now.

i searched net found "tap a draft" and "party pig" anyone have any feedback on these?

I've had limited experience with Tap-A-Draft, and I like it. Probably not as good as a full kegging setup. But the TAD system generally gets good rap.

I've heard lots of complaints with the pig, don't know about the tad. no room for a mini-fridge tucked away in a corner somewhere?

2.5 gallon ball lock kegs are available online at chicompany.net. I have never ordered from them and don't have a review of the item, but it looks like it would work just like a regular keg, only smaller.

i have done the 1.25 gal setup with a small co2 canister. sort of like the heinie's mini keg. worked well but could keep them charged with co2 (think my tap had a leak) i think they are called PhilTap system. pretty good and don't take up alot of space. i kept mine in the fridge.

I have used Miller/Coors homedraft "kegs" extensively and like them though they are a little smaller than you are asking about. They run off of 16g CO2 cartridges that are sold for bike tire inflaters. I naturally carb then use the cartridge for dispensing. You can use one cartridge for force carbing and one for dispensing, but, at least with the cartridges I've used, I think the beer tastes better naturally carbed.