new water profile - advice?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BeerGRip

Reaction score
Hi all,

I've been brewing for 5 years, all-grain for two. I recently moved to my new house in Maplewood, NJ, and just received the analysis of my new tap water:

• pH: 7.7
  • TDS: 328
  • conductivy: .55
  • Cations / Anions: 5.9/5.7
  • Sodium: 40
  • Potassium: 1
  • Calcium: 57
  • Magnesium: 15
  • Total Hardness CaCO3: 205
  • Nitrate NO3-N: 1.0
  • Sulfate So4-S: 16
  • Chloride: 80
  • Carbonate: <1
  • Bicarbonate 144
  • Total Alkalinity CaCO3: 118
  • Phosphorus: .47
  • Iron: <.01

All units PPM.

I've been playing with Bru'nWater and EZWater for a few days, and it seems like there's a few directions I could go with this (including a 50-100% dilution with RO).

I've done one extract brew with this water as-is (just to get back on the horse; I hadn't brewed for several months because of the move), a DFH 60-minute clone, and the hopping tastes "wanky." "Under-expressed" might be a more descriptive term.

I'm planning to brew a Vienna+Hallertau SMaSH (10# + 3 0 oz) in the next few days. I do five gallon batches using a basic round 10-gallon cooler MLT, infusion mash, batch sparge.

Any advice on what to do with the water chemistry? Any thoughts will be much appreciated.

Cheers,
Greg

Diluting with RO would be a very good thing to do because you want to brew with lower alkalinity for the majority of beers.

For the Vienna smash, I'd probably go 100% RO with a teaspoon of calcium chloride.

Thanks, Yooper! That's definitely the way I'm leaning...

For the sake of investigation, what would all of you think of these additions into my tap water. Five-gallon batch, 3.8G of strike water:

• 1 g gypsum
  • 4 g calcium chloride
  • 2 g epsom salt