Keg carbonation question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LizardBrew83

Reaction score
I am new to kegging and just finished force carbing my first batch. So a week ago, I siphoned my beer to the keg, forced out the air with a few bursts of co2, shook it a little, then set the pressure to 25 psi and let it sit that way for a week. Last night I lowered the pressure to 12 psi and poured my first glass (well I did steal a few small tastings while it was force carbing). It was very foamy but when the foam settled out, there was hardly any co2 absorbed in the beer itself, but the head lasted nicely. Is this because, it is not carbonated enough and the co2 is not absorbed into the beer or it is too carbonated, causing the foam which in turn causes the co2 in the beer to dissipate quickly or it will just take another few days or so to settle down from the pressure being up so high?

well, first off, 25 psi for a week is too much, especially if you shook it also. you can set it at like 30 overnight, at most for 48 hrs, but then back it down to 12 to sit for the rest of the week. i'm guessing that it was too carbonated, but there should have been some residual co2 in the beer also. how long are your lines?

what was the temperature where you stored for a week? If it was over 60 degrees then 25lbs shouldn't have overcarbed in just one week.... at 60 deg I'd say about 22 lbs for 2 weeks...

shook it 'a little'? there again unless the temp was very low this may have done almost nothing.

When you sample you can avoid the foam by venting all the co2 from the keg first then setting the pressure to about 8lbs, increase as necessary even while you pour. I will never overcarb because I am sampling very often.....