A Style Everyone can Enjoy??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SpamDog

Reaction score
Hello all,

Looking for a little advice.. I am going to be making a brew for our family's Annual Labor Day End of Summer Bash.
I am really new to brewing and sofar have only 1 beer under my belt.. the question is.. Most my family drinks BMC type beers tho a few will Drink Sam Adams Summer Ale.
I am looking for a style or even a recipie that has the best chance of being enjoyed by the family.. I have some Ideas but thought I would default to the best resource for beer that I have... You guys!

SpamDog

My first brew was one that everyone liked. Even the BMC drinkers. It was pretty simple and was easy to make. all you need is:
1 can Cooper's Drought liquid extract.
3 pounds light dried malt extract.
The Cooper's is hopped and when the beer is complete you end up with a nice beer that isn't over powering with malt or hop bitterness. It was definitely better than Bud!

Another vote for a pale ale.

Or maybe a hefeweizen. Most of the "sophisticated" BMC drinkers I know actually really love hefeweizens. It's different enough from BMC so that they don't do an apples-to-apples comparison, but it's still got a very smooth easy-drinking character that is familiar to BMC drinkers. They just have to get over the cloudiness.

Otherwise, pale ale or an ESB is the way to go. ESB is cool because it's a historic style. You get to tell a story as you serve it. A good story always makes beer taste better.....