Honey Steam - Grain Bill Advice

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gregblatz

Reaction score
Hi All,
I am planning on making a steam style ale with honey. I have put together the recipe below and would love some input. The more I think about it, the more I am worried that I will have too much specialty grains.

Beersmith has this coming in at 1.051 / 10.5 lovibond / 39 IBU
65% efficiency

What do you think?

3 lb Maris Otter (3)
3 lb Pale 2 row (2)
1.5 lb Vienna (3.5)

.5 lb Biscuit (23)
1.25 lb Caramel (40)
.5 lb CaraVienne (20)

1 oz Cluster 60 min
1 oz Northern Brewer 10min

1.5 lb Clover Honey

WL810 San Fran Lager

I, too, think that 1.25# Cara 40 might be excessive, esp. with the other grains already there.

I'm no expert on steam beers - that's one style I've not even dabbled in - but if I had to ballpark it, based on what I know about the taste of Anchor Steam, I would half all of those specialty grains... the Vienna will contribute some maltiness already, so I'd limit it to 4oz Biscuit, 12oz Caramel 40, and leave the CaraVienne out entirely.

I *think* the hop schedule looks fine, unless someone more in-the-know has advice.... I don't know if I would use Cluster for bittering, since it's a british hop.... BUT it could be good, with the addition of the honey, to keep away from something citrusy?

If you're looking for honey flavor, I'd add 4 oz Honey Malt to the grainbill.... remember that real honey will ferment out drier than wort usually does, and will lend itself to a dry finish.

Overall - Looks at least intriguing! As I noted, I've never tackled this style before... But it looks good! On the right path!