Grain milling question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FlyGuy

Reaction score
I am still pretty new to partial mash brews, and I was hoping to get some advice on how fine to mill my grain. I understand that crushing or cracking the grains is the goal, and that milling too fine will lead to problems. As I understand it, a stuck sparge is the biggest problem with milling too fine.

My first question is whether the goal is to mill your grain/malt as fine as possible while avoiding stuck sparges? Second, I gather that stuck sparges are more of an issue with fly sparging, so can batch spargers afford to mill a little finer than continuous spargers? Finally, are there any other substantial problems with milling too fine other than stuck sparges?

Any advice would really be appreciated here -- some of this stuff still doesn't make complete sense to me. Thanks!

My first question is whether the goal is to mill your grain/malt as fine as possible while avoiding stuck sparges?

Yes. Ideally you probably want zero intact kernels, just a bit of flour, and plenty of intact husks, cracked apart enough to expose the white goodness inside.

Second, I gather that stuck sparges are more of an issue with fly sparging, so can batch spargers afford to mill a little finer than continuous spargers?

You can still get a stuck sparge when batch sparging, so you probably don't want a more flour in your grist.

Finally, are there any other substantial problems with milling too fine other than stuck sparges?

No. BMC actually mill their grain quite fine and use a more sophisticated system than homebrewers (one I don't fully understand).

Good luck!