Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Wheat and Rye Beer > All-Grain - Bee Cave Brewery Bavarian Hefeweizen

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-22-2013, 04:12 PM   #951
doortees
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Hello first post.

I'm new at all grain. Brewing a wheat beer using torrified wheat. I'm wondering if I will get any enzyme conversion from the wheat starch. I'm looking to get abv 5.5 -6. Unsure about how much if any the wheat will contribute.
I plan to use some 2row and Belgian pilsner for the base malt. Not sure how much of those to use though.
Any insights will be greatly appreciated.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2013, 07:57 PM   #952
SFGiantsFan925
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 4 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 350 Times on 200 Posts
Likes Given: 205

Quote:
Originally Posted by doortees View Post
Hello first post.

I'm new at all grain. Brewing a wheat beer using torrified wheat. I'm wondering if I will get any enzyme conversion from the wheat starch. I'm looking to get abv 5.5 -6. Unsure about how much if any the wheat will contribute.
I plan to use some 2row and Belgian pilsner for the base malt. Not sure how much of those to use though.
Any insights will be greatly appreciated.
If i were you, try and find an online recipe calculator. It will give you all the amounts. If you cant find one, I can enter it to Beersmith for you. As the recipe sits, its around 5.5%. Not sure why you would use 2 Row and Belg Pilsner malts, with the wheat. If you want to use both, use majority Bel Pilsner and the rest 2Row, with more Wheat. So as the recipe is on the first page, your recipe should be something like:

7 lbs. Wheat
4 lbs. (2-Row (US) + Belgian Pils (2-Row))
Rice hulls
Hops schedule as written

Hope that makes sense. That give you 5.6% in a 5.5 gallon batch, 5.1% in a 6 gallon batch. (according to BeerSmith)

Old 01-22-2013, 08:08 PM   #953
mgortel
Recipes 

Liked 31 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 7