Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Stout > Extract - "Boondock" Irish Stout

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-15-2010, 10:24 PM   #51
mgortel
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 31 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 7

i am brewing this up right now....some minor adjustments.....just got done steeping fgrains...and man oh man does that smell and look delicious!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-04-2010, 06:57 PM   #52
keithfitzpatrick
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 1 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgortel View Post
"4 Lbs (Medium) Pale Extract"

is there a MEDIUM?? I cant seem to find it...Im a noob of course....

What about using a Dark Malt Extract instead?
I'm not the expert here, but I think Dark Malt Extract probably contains some crystal and some black malts already in it. So you may want to subtract some or all out of the original recipe if you are going to use it.

I'd probably take out all the crystal and maybe a bit of the black roasted barley (still leave about 1.5lbs) but honestly, that's just a SWAG. If you get the exact makeup of the dark malt extract, you can probably be a bit more exact.

Old 08-30-2010, 05:40 PM   #53
michiganbob
Recipes 

Brewed up a batch of this yesterday. Had to make a couple substitutions, and I went with the British Ale II yeast. I can't wait to get this one in the keg! I'll let you know how it turns out. =)

Old 10-04-2010, 09:16 PM   #54
dangerbrew
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 32 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 40

just brewed this again, using White Labs Irish Ale yeast. Craziest blowoff I've ever had, for sure. smells delicious though.

On Tap/Kegged:, "Springthyme" Saison (Saison du Buff clone), "The Sh*t that Killed Elvis" PB-Banana-Bacon Ale, "Flying Hop Monster" Imperial Black IPA, "Chubby Unicorn" Blueberry-Vanilla Witbier, "Captain Meowmers" Maris/Mosaic SMaSH, "Snozzberry" Gluten-free Raspberry Wit, "Batch 100" American Barleywine (1.100 OG, 100 IBU)