Yeast starter temperature control

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheFlyingBeer

Reaction score
Hi all, it's been a while.

I have been working on ways to gradually improve my beers and just this past week have finished putting together a stirplate for yeast starters. I am an electrical engineer by schooling and am pretty competent around circuits and microcontrollers so my question is this:

What are the communities thoughts on controlling the temperature of my yeast starters?

So I have this peltier based USB beverage cooler/warmer laying around that was gifted to me quite a while ago.
31dsAJ1caVL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

I have taken it apart and the device couldn't be more simple. Controlling it wouldn't take much.

I figure it would be really easy for me to implement a simple temperature control system into my existing stirplate. Is it worth the effort? For now, I plan on keeping my yeast starters at whatever ambient my apartment is currently sitting at.

A MCU would read the temperature from a temp probe of some kind and regulate the current through the peltier to cool or warm the yeast starter to keep it at an ideal profile. Thoughts?

i've always heard that doing yeast starters at room temp is OK. i guess it depends on how big the starter is and whether or not you're going to decant it. if you plan to make it part of your beer, temp control would probably be more important, but if you have a stirplate, they don't tend to be as big, so i really wouldn't worry too much about controlling the temp of your starters (assuming lager starters are huge and will be decanted).