Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > My Home Bar Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-23-2010, 09:34 PM   #1
toycruiser23
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default My Home Bar Thread

Hey All! Well for my first post on here I'm going start a thread on a project I've been working on for over 4 years now. Earlier this year I made some great progress and it's almost done. So a quick summary of what my dad and I have been working on.
I moved into my house in Chandler back in July of 2005. One of the reasons I liked this house was because of a fairly large backyard and a 12'x24' "Tuff Shed" there as well. This shed had power, in wall AC unit, fan, roll up door and a 4 station work out machine in it, all that the last owners left. Well instead of using it as a workout room, I decided to make it bigger, bring more power over and turn it into a man cave/tavern.
I got my dad to help since he is quite handy. We added on 6' to make it 18'x24', raised the roof, made it vaulted with open beams and put pine t&g for the ceiling. My grandfather is a retired electrician so he helped me wire up the place. We brought over more power, 2AWG 220V, and I put in a 15,000BTU in wall heat pump, like something you would see in a hotel room. I put in wood flooring from Costco, bought a sweet pool table, built a stereo rack, 32" LCD TV, wainscoting, beer bottle shelf that crowns the room and for the finale, built a L shaped bar that measures 11'x8' roughly including a backbar. Bar is complete with a sink/hot water, 15cu keezer, 4 taps, CO2/beer gas tanks, etched mirror, mini fridge and mini freezer.
So I've only been brewing for 2 years now and when I started this project, I had no idea I would become a homebrewer. It makes sense for me to be a homebrewer, since I am a DIYer, plus I have space to entertain and serve my beer.