Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > My 1st Score ... Take 2
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-14-2011, 08:11 PM   #1
SAMPLER
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: South Portland, Maine
Posts: 529
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default My 1st Score ... Take 2

Some may have read about my recent score of a complete Jockey Box and full size CO2 for $10... Yup what a score to find... thank you Craigslist!

My 1st Score original thread.
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f11/my-1st-score-255994/

Well, my story gets better, I went o pick up the CO2 which was located in the back of their garage and in walking through I noticed a few things that caught my interest. They were a steel box and a On/Off throw switch box. SO, after catching my breathe from dragging the CO2 out and into the truck I asked.

"So what are doing with those metal electrical boxes?"

The answer again surprised me... "I tried selling this weekend but no takers, I guess they are going into the trash. Unless... you want them?"

Yup, you got it! Another FREE score!!!!

Here is what I picked up again for FREE plus a pic of the CO2 tank!!




220v On/Off pull switch box measure 10.25 x 6.25 x 4.25 Can this be used with 110v wiring and power instead of 220


Electrical box w/ removable front cover 12 x 12 x 8

Looks like I'm one step closer to starting my build on my Brutus Clone

__________________
Madbier's Malt House
On Tap: Hopped up Cream, Madbiers Summer Pale, Madbiers Weizenbock
Kegged: Madbiers Red Ale
Primary: Madbiers Weizen
SAMPLER is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-14-2011, 08:16 PM   #2
Vance71975
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bryan, Ohio
Posts: 818
Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

Awesome Scores man! Keep us posted. I'm no electrician but my guess(and it is just a guess, consult an electrician before doing anything!!!) is, if it will carry 220 it will carry 110. I cant see why logically you would need to change the wiring to go down in voltage, up i could see and understand but not down.

__________________

The mind is like a beer, it does the most good when it is opened.

Vance71975 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-14-2011, 08:22 PM   #3
jsguitar
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jsguitar's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 1,027
Liked 93 Times on 72 Posts
Likes Given: 422

Default

Can you ask this lady if she has any friends in KS?

__________________
jsguitar is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-14-2011, 08:39 PM   #4
hoppymonkey
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: north atlanta
Posts: 1,021
Liked 11 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

NIce!. I troll CS regiously for scores. I just picked two fridges for free recently myself and BAM! working kegerator.

__________________
hoppymonkey is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-14-2011, 09:53 PM   #5
_JP_
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Woodstock, GA
Posts: 311
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Yep, that'll work for 110VAC also. It most likely has fuses in it though, and they might cost a little bit to replace, so you're not out of the woods yet.

Nowadays stuff like that usually goes straight to the scrap yard for a couple $$. You got lucky - good find.

__________________

Working on:
summer gardening

Upcoming projects:
NG line for outdoor burner

_JP_ is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-15-2011, 12:41 AM   #6
SAMPLER
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: South Portland, Maine
Posts: 529
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _JP_ View Post
Yep, that'll work for 110VAC also. It most likely has fuses in it though, and they might cost a little bit to replace, so you're not out of the woods yet.
Yes that is correct that there are fuses inside. I guess my next question is can I replace the current fuses with ones that will be reduced to 110V thus creating another back up for my brew system?
__________________
Madbier's Malt House
On Tap: Hopped up Cream, Madbiers Summer Pale, Madbiers Weizenbock
Kegged: Madbiers Red Ale
Primary: Madbiers Weizen
SAMPLER is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-15-2011, 01:10 AM   #7
_JP_
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Woodstock, GA
Posts: 311
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

The existing fuses should work fine (they're "backwards compatible" so can be used with lower voltages). They trip on amperage.

I mentioned replacing them because they could be blown, or were removed during the demo. Test them out with a multimeter - open circuit between the two end caps of a fuse means it's gone.

__________________

Working on:
summer gardening

Upcoming projects:
NG line for outdoor burner

_JP_ is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free PLC (and more) score SOB DIY Projects 17 09-26-2012 05:32 PM
The big score bacbrewery DIY Projects 6 10-02-2010 02:32 PM
Spectrometer score - Now what? passedpawn DIY Projects 8 08-14-2010 03:48 PM
Cheap score! The_Dtrain DIY Projects 1 07-27-2010 05:04 PM
Score! What do I do with them? KillerKellers DIY Projects 10 08-06-2009 04:12 PM