help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

trfd13

Reaction score
I have a (store) 1/4 keg and 1/2 keg. Am looking into either making brew pots or fermenter. I am fairly new to home brewing so am doing extract brews. Any ideas or suggestions

Any ideas for what?
You can make a keggle out of your 1/2 barrel. Plenty of guides, pics, etc.

not sure if i should do brew pots or the fermenter. perhaps i should have mentioned i have a plasma cuttrer and am a welder/machinest by trade.

A 1/4 bbl keg is on the small side for a boil kettle/brew vessel but about the perfect size for a fermenter. Take the spear out (plenty of how to guides and videos if you do a quick search) and put a rubber bung in the top, or an orange carboy cap over the top, and you've got a great fermenter. The 1/2 bbl keg is the perfect size for a boil kettle. Remove the spear, cut a hole in the top, and install a ball valve and pick up tube. If you want to use your plasma cutter to cut the top, fill it with some water first so that you don't end up with a bunch of slag stuck to the bottom.

what does "(store)" mean? are these legally yours? or do they still belong to the brewery??

A 1/4 bbl keg is on the small side for a boil kettle/brew vessel but about the perfect size for a fermenter. Take the spear out (plenty of how to guides and videos if you do a quick search) and put a rubber bung in the top, or an orange carboy cap over the top, and you've got a great fermenter. The 1/2 bbl keg is the perfect size for a boil kettle. Remove the spear, cut a hole in the top, and install a ball valve and pick up tube. If you want to use your plasma cutter to cut the top, fill it with some water first so that you don't end up with a bunch of slag stuck to the bottom.