Wheat Beer has off flavor?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

smAllGrain

Reaction score
So I should prob start off saying I am new to brewing (Hence the Forum choice). Started in March of this year and have brewed every month since.

This was my first BIAB and had a hard time keeping a consistence mash temp which is the biggest challenge with BIAB (Side note: I bought a cooler and made a mash tun after this experience).

Here is the recipe I used

- 3 gallons
- OG 1.042, FG 1.010
- Boil 60 minutes
- 10.5 IBU
- 5.4 SRM

Mash
60 miuntes @ 154*F (tried to any ways. Ranged from 148-160)

2.00 lb White Wheat Malt (2.4 SRM) 45.71 %
1.50 lb Pilsner (2 Row) Ger (2.0 SRM) 34.29 %
0.50 lb Wheat, Flaked (1.6 SRM) 11.43 %
0.50 lb Honey Malt (25.0 SRM) 8.57 %

Boil (60 minutes)

0.25 oz Tettnang [4.50 %] (60 min) 7.7 IBU
0.50 oz Dextrose (60 Min)
0.25 oz Tettnang [4.50 %] (10 min) 2.8 IBU
2.00 oz Tangerine Peel (10 min)

Yeast

Safale Wheat Ale (WB-06)

Its only been in the bottle for about 2 weeks. I like to try one each week to see how it is developing. First few sips are good. Getting a lot of tangerine. Then a few more drinks in...... Honestly I am having a hard time determining what the issue is. First off I think I used waaaaaayy to much tangerine. It is very dry possibly due to the mash and addition of dextrose. there is a flavor that is kind of bitter (maybe from the tangerine peel) Have no idea if I can detect the honey malt or I can and I don't like it.

Guess the big question is... Will more time allow these flavors to mellow out?

Well I used the Brewers Best Tangerine Peel as it was a gift. So chances are there was some pith?

I have used fresh zest before but figured I had the BB I should use it