Tweaking Brew's Best Scottish Ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dlm3

Reaction score
I'm planning on starting my first batch this weekend, using a Brewer's Best Scottish Ale kit: http://www.brewersbestkits.com/pdf/1038_Scottish_Ale.pdf

As I said, this is my first attempt at home brewing; I got a starter's setup for Christmas and just finally have a little bit of time at home this weekend. I picked up Palmer's How to Brew right before my recent trip and got through most of it. It definitely helped me get a better understanding of brewing.

Maybe I should just stick to the default recipe for my first attempt, but I would like to shoot for a higher ABV (~6.5%), the target 3.25% to 3.5% seems pretty low for this style. One of my favorite Scottish Ales is from a local microbrew (Upstream) and is 6.5% (hence this being my target.) What would be the best way to accomplish a higher ABV while having a minimal impact on the other characteristics of the beer? On the following thread someone claims adding honey to the boil is a great way to accomplish this:
https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f37/how-increase-alcohol-level-9170/index3.html
Any thoughts on the use of honey to increase ABV, or any other suggestions?

Also, several reviews of this kit state that the smoky flavor is a bit too intense, so I was thinking about only using 3 oz of the Smoked grain instead of 4 oz. Are there any potential repercussions of doing this?

Thanks!!
-D.L.

I would just add more malt extract. That will up the gravity a bit (DME=45 ppg, LME=36 ppg). You'll then want to add more hops (or do a late extract addition) to balance out the extra gravity. I'll see if I can't come up with a recipe later.