Too much head retention?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

danmdevries

Reaction score
I've got an IPA kegged that I just tapped about a week ago. It was force kegged at 30psi for 3 days, turned regulator back down and dispensing at 12-14. It discharges through 1/4" beer line over a 5ft distance to the tap.

This is the first time I've had this issue. I'm new at brewing and kegging but this is my third kegged brew.

My glass is empty and there's about 1" of thick foam at the bottom of the cup with a heavy ring around the top and lacing top to bottom on the glass. Don't have a camera handy or I'd take a picture.

Did I do something wrong on the brewing side? Kegging side? Or just dont worry about it?

When I pour a glass it's impossible to avoid a thick head despite using clean wet tapered glass poured on an angle. The dispense rate from the keg is normal, not forceful and the carbonation "profile" is unremarkable.

Other than this extremely thick (think canned whip cream) head the beer is perfect, my best to date.

Congratulations, you made what most people would consider great beer.

Try turning down your pressure to 5-8 psi range and it'll likely comes out as you would like it.

Haha

And I thought I was doing something wrong. I've never had head retention like this, commercial or homebrew.

Took a pic just now.

2011-11-15202529.jpg

If you're using 1/4" line and getting good pours, that's great but not common. You may find that you get more and more head and form as time goes on. 3/16" line is better for shorter runs.

If you're using 1/4" line and getting good pours, that's great but not common. You may find that you get more and more head and form as time goes on. 3/16" line is better for shorter runs.