Question about hydrometer reading..Irish Red Ale....need help!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oldwarrior86

Reaction score
Hi all....I could use some help! I just transferred my first brew from my primary fermentor to my secondary. As a newbie, I forgot to take a hydrometer reading after closing my lid on the primary, so I I'm not sure about my SG. That being said, after 7 days in my primary, the reading today was 1.020. The FG is supposed to be 1.010 - 1.012. Am I on the right track? Will it continue to drop from 1.020 to 1.010 over the next 7 days.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Signed....a paranoid thirsty man.

is it possible your fermentation stalled because of temperature variations? I have my Irish red at a consistant 70 degrees. I've been getting a 1.014 reading for two days now. It's been in primary for 2 weeks.

I made a rookie mistake and didn't take a reading on the first day. That being said, the recipe calls for SG: 1.042-1.046 and FG: 1.010 - 1.012. I have kept the room temp and primary bucket at approximately 66 to 68 degrees. It was in the primary for 7 days and has now been moved to the secondary carboy with a hydrometer reading of 1.020.

Just RDWHAHB. Since this was an extract beer your SG was more than likely in that range. Your temperature seems fine. When you racked to secondary you may have roused the yeast enough to gain a couple more points but it may not. Just be sure to use your hydrometer like you have been. If it doesn't SG doesn't drop anymore you'll be fine to bottle/keg it will just be a little sweeter than you might have wanted but will still be good. Sometimes brewing with extract you don't get very good attenuation.