Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway - Last Weekend to Enter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Propane burner advice requested...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-21-2013, 01:20 AM   #1
Falchan
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Propane burner advice requested...

I started brewing this past February, and have been very happy with the results thus far, but I have been cooking on the stove which takes a good deal of time and in the summer generates way too much heat and humidity in the house. I'm looking for a propane burner to cook my wort outdoors... any suggestions?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2013, 01:23 AM   #2
bigmike99
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 25 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 257 Times on 170 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Got a bayou sp1 (?) off the shelf from home depot. Think it was $50. Looking back I'd grab the turkey fryer setup instead to get a bigger pot though.

Untappd-Mombo

Old 07-21-2013, 01:36 AM   #3
Cyclman
I Sell Koalas
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 415 Times on 365 Posts
Likes Given: 130

+1 on turkey fryer, get one that doesn't have an auto temp shutoff, those don't work well for brewing.

Or, go for a banjo burner or Blich. with a big 10G pot- more $ but will last forever.

Give a man a beer, waste an hour. Teach a man to brew, and waste a lifetime! Bill Owen quote

Join the Beacon Point (Aurora, CO) Brewclub on Facebook- casual, fun brewing, drinking, socializing!

Old 07-21-2013, 12:20 PM   #4
hehawbrew
Recipes 

Liked 41 Times on 35 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyclman
+1 on turkey fryer, get one that doesn't have an auto temp shutoff, those don't work well for brewing.

Or, go for a banjo burner or Blich. with a big 10G pot- more $ but will last forever.
Auto temp is a pain! My turkey fryer was a gift, so I can't complain. Easy fix with a few strips of duct tape to keep to valve open tho.