Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Mr Beer - Read all about it and ask questions

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2009, 07:11 AM   #971
Irish1225
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

this is great. i've made a couple batches with mr. beer (i'm pretty new to the trade) and went out and got 5 gal fermenters this week.

and i'm not ashamed to say i used mr. beer

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2009, 08:58 PM   #972
Irishman78
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Orfy View Post
If you have no LHBS then the internet is the easiest.

What is your location?
Montgomery, AL and to my knowledge, nothing in the surrounding area that would have a LHBS, but I would love to be wrong...

I am also having a hard time finding corn sugar at any grocery or Fresh Market stores. Also, I bought a 3-pack of yeast packets from a grocery store. Should I assume each packet is roughly the same amount of yeast as the Mr. Beer yeast?

I know, lots of questions but I hoping to avoid some beginner mistakes before ever making them.

Old 01-16-2009, 09:04 PM   #973
Orfy
For the love of beer!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 69 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 30

Okay.

1. really try to use all malt instead of sugar if you can. If you are using sugar and can't get corn sugar don't worry use table sugar. Just don't expect great beer and don't be put off.
2. I presume(hope) it's beer yeast not bread yeast.
3. you want 7-11g of yeast for a MR beer kit.

keep asking the questions.

Old 01-16-2009, 09:34 PM   #974
Irishman78
Recipes 

1. I have a refill on the way that is Linebacker Doppel Bock with Creamy Brown UME. I was thinking ferment for 14 days, then bottle and wait...how long? I know some people have said they will wait 2-3 weeks, try a bottle, then keep trying one each week to see how much better they get with time.