Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Looking for affordable brew enhancers

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2013, 05:50 AM   #1
bwhit55
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Looking for affordable brew enhancers

I am pretty new to brewing but have had a great time doing it and drinking it. I am a broke college student looking for cheap ideas or DIY ideas to enhance my brewing experience. Just wondering of any suggestions you may have?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2013, 10:38 AM   #2
jethro55
Recipes 

Liked 30 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Have you thought about BIAB ? You could use it as an enhancer without changing equipment. All you need is the bag and a few pounds of grain at $1.25 per pound.

Next Up: Superbowl Stout

Old 02-13-2013, 11:15 AM   #3
MVKTR2
Recipes 

Liked 26 Times on 24 Posts
Likes Given: 24

What Jehro55 said. Purchase the 5 gallon paint strainer bags from the hardware store to use for the grain bags (they're cheap). Most average strength ales can be made with a 3# bag of dme or 3.3# tin of lme plus 3-6# of grain in a brew in the bag partial mash. Learn yeast washing and you can use every pack of yeast for 3-4 batches. Brew low hop beers. When low-hopping isn't possible bitterness additions can be Magnum or similar high alpha hops saving perhaps a couple dollars on hop cost.

Many will advise against it harkening back to ye olde kit-n-kilo days, but... Most beers can do with using table sugar for 10% of the fermentables. If you do this though for average american ales for example you'd be wise to raise the mash temp by 2 degrees to compensate for the thinning the sugar is going to give you.

Finally beer calculus is a wonderful free online beer recipator to help with putting together your own recipes.