How much airlock activity?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hitman73

Reaction score
Hi Again, My first brew is on day 3. Just wondering what to expect. Although some people have said sometimes you get no airlock activity, assuming I do and even on a gentle ferment how often do bubbles come out? I know its a silly question, but i just dont know what to expect as i have no experience as yet :)

Don't worrry about it. The first few days of bubbles is normal. Gasses being expelled. But, still let it ferment for alotted time. I hope.

Hey there. I'm going to start with a disclaimer that I've only done a few batches myself, but I know what you're going through. I was nervous about my first batch. All of my batches started "bubbling" in the airlock within 24 hours but then have died down to little to no activity by day 3-4 which I understand to be pretty common. It doesn't mean your fermentation is complete, only that the first stage (primary) is complete. If you have a hydrometer, that is the best way to determine if fermentation is complete as your gravity will stop dropping. During primary fermentation though, I've gotten anywhere from a bubble every second or two, down to a bubble every 15-20 seconds.

Great, thank you. It is day 3 and it actually started bubbling every 20 or 30 seconds after i posted the thread started. First sign of activity. It's going for it now. I do have a hydro, and i will check gravity after about 7 days or so. It is an extract kit, says to check after 4 to 7 days. Im going from primary to bottle so gravity needs to be right, dont want any bombs!