How Long Till I Can Drink

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

biggerthanyou83

Reaction score
OK I am new to the home brewing but I am already addicted to it. I just bottled my home brew of american pale ale and just placed my second brew of Irish stout to ferment. My Q's is how long should i wait to try the bottled beer? Looking at the one bottle it looks like its already getting carbinated but it has only been 3 days. Should i wait 1 week or 2 weeks? And i tried a litle bit of it while i was botteling it and it tasted good.... just flat. would the taste stay the same? Thank you for any help

The 3 weeks at 70 degrees, that we recommend is the minimum time it takes for average gravity beers to carbonate and condition. Higher grav beers take longer.

Stouts and porters have taken me between 6 and 8 weeks to carb up..I have a 1.090 Belgian strong that took three months to carb up.

Temp and gravity are the two factors that contribute to the time it takes to carb beer. But if a beer's not ready yet, or seems low carbed, and you added the right amount of sugar to it, then it's not stalled, it's just not time yet.

Everything you need to know about carbing and conditioning, can be found here Of Patience and Bottle Conditioning. With emphasis on the word, "patience." ;)

Mannnn it smelled soooo good botteling it. LOL. ok ill wait 3 weeks before i try the one bottle i had out. Thank You.

+1 to the religious one.

Patience is your friend. Right now, your beer would be undercarbed, unbalanced and will taste a little sweet from the priming sugar.

If you want to try one, wait at LEAST two weeks to try, but, like Revvy said, three weeks at minimum for best results. You will likely find that the best bottle of your batch will be the last one.