Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Help me decide which Stockpot to get Plz

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-03-2012, 10:53 PM   #1
MrRoboto
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default Help me decide which Stockpot to get Plz

I just ordered a really nice $300 homebrew starter kit from AHS but I dont have a stockpot yet. Since Im just getting started I dont want to spend that much on one yet, but I also dont want to buy a piece of junk so please help me decide between these two..

First is a bayou classic 24 qt found here.
http://www.bayouclassicoutlet.com/10...-lid-1024.html

Second is one on amazon 20 qt commercial grade with 3 ply bottom
http://www.amazon.com/Professional-C...words=stockpot

Or if anyone knows where to get a better pot than the mentioned for the same price let me know.. Thank You

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-03-2012, 10:57 PM   #2
menerdari
Recipes 

Liked 42 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 16

I paid $38 for my brewers best 20 quart SS at my LHBS
OK for the partial boils I have been doing.

Old 10-03-2012, 11:01 PM   #3
HerbieHowells
Recipes 

Liked 35 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Assuming you have a heat source capable of heating five gallons of water, go with the 24 quart pot. A nice boil has a way of boiling over quickly, especially if you have just added extract, and you do not want to have to clean up that mess. A bigger pot will let you do full boils with a little room to spare.

A few weeks ago, I was at a Wal-Mart with a grocery department, and I saw large stock pots near the Mexican food aisle for sale, presumably for steaming tamales. They were at least six gallons, and being sold for $25. It probably wouldn't be as nice as the other pots, but it might be worth a trip to Wal Mart.

Old 10-03-2012, 11:12 PM   #4
MrRoboto
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Quote: