Gravity and water questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

d_jabsd

Reaction score
I have found that my gravity readings on both ends-OG and FG, by 10 points.
I'm fairly new to brewing so I figured I was just making beginner mistakes.
I took a reading of my tap water and found it reads .990 instead of the expected 1.000.

Can I bring my water up to 1.000 with additions, or should I just start brewing with RO water or something like that? I'm brewing mostly extract kits with specialty grains, so I wouldn't want to over do an addition that my already be in the extract.

thanks for your advice.

What temperature is the water when you take our reading? I think most hydrometers are calibrated to 60F so for starters you might want to try a sample at that temperature to see what it says.

d_jabsd said:
I have found that my gravity readings on both ends-OG and FG, by 10 points.
I'm fairly new to brewing so I figured I was just making beginner mistakes.
I took a reading of my tap water and found it reads .990 instead of the expected 1.000.

Can I bring my water up to 1.000 with additions, or should I just start brewing with RO water or something like that? I'm brewing mostly extract kits with specialty grains, so I wouldn't want to over do an addition that my already be in the extract.

thanks for your advice.

I would assume your hydrometer is off, not the water. Just add .01 to all your readings.

The water was straight out of the tap around 66-68 degrees. my OG wort measurements were taken slightly warmer, around 78, and then fed into Brewpal to compensate for temp. the FG measurements were taken with the wort at room temp- 68-70 and fed into Brewpal.